FEMA and State Schedule Briefings On Disaster Assistance

NJ Office of Emergency ManagementNJOEM logo

Colonel Rick Fuentes

                         Major Jeffrey  Mottley

Superintendent, New Jersey State Police

State Director of Emergency Management

Commanding Officer, Emergency Management



FEMA External AffairsPhyllis Deroian (732) 216-5810NJOEM PIO

Laura Connolly (609) 462-6925

July 29, 2015

West Trenton, NJ – New Jersey county and municipal emergency management officials are invited to briefings which will explain the process of applying for federal disaster assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and hazard mitigation in the wake of the severe storm which impacted Atlantic, Burlington, Camden and Gloucester Counties on June 23, 2015 . Though the meetings are not open to the public, citizens will benefit from the assistance received by their individual counties to offset the financial impact of the storm.Federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today that four separate briefings will take place as follows:Monday August 3rd     10:00 AM    State Agencies                                                           

NJSP Division Headquarters

Regional Operations Intelligence Center

West Trenton, NJ

Monday August 3rd      1:30 PM      Burlington County

Burlington County Emergency Services Training Center

53 Academy Drive

Westampton, NJ

Tuesday August 4th      10:00 AM   Gloucester/Atlantic

Gloucester County Admin Bldg

1200 North Delsea Drive

Clayton, NJ

Tuesday August 4th       1:30 PM    Camden County

Bellmawr Fire Department

29 Lewis Ave

Bellmawr, NJ

“Through our experience with Superstorm Sandy we have used our lessons learned to enhance policies and procedures,” said Captain TJ Collins, State Coordinating Officer from the New Jersey Office of Emergency Management. “These briefings are intended to educate county and local officials on the eligibility requirements, application development and reimbursement process. We also have a responsibility to ensure that federal, state, and local dollars are used appropriately.”

President Barack Obama has designated 4 New Jersey counties eligible for disaster assistance: Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester.

With the Public Assistance grant declaration, affected county and municipal governments are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities.

All counties in the State of New Jersey are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.


Press Release – Applicant Briefings DR 4231. FINAL

This entry was posted in Severe Storm DR-4231 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.